How do I get a Loudoun County Library card?
Loudoun County Public Library cards are available without charge to individuals of any age who:
live in Loudoun County
work in Loudoun County
own property in Loudoun County
own a business in Loudoun County
attend school in Loudoun County
live in any one of the jurisdictions who participate in the regional reciprocal borrowing program
No one else is eligible to receive a Loudoun County Library card.
Cards may be obtained by visiting any one of our branches in person or by applying online. You should receive your card in the mail within 5-7 business days. Prior to receiving your card, your card number will be emailed to you. Customers registering for the first time will fill out a registration form, sign a responsibility statement, and provide a photo id and proof of current address, plus other documents that may be used to establish your eligibility. You are asked to present your library card whenever you check out library materials.
Where may I use my Loudoun County Library Card?
You may use your card at any Loudoun County Public Library branch. You may check out and return materials, as well as request materials and pick them up at any branch.
I don’t live in Loudoun, but I’d like to know if my county/city participates in the regional reciprocal borrowing program so that I am still eligible for a Loudoun County library card.
If you are a resident of any one of the following jurisdictions, you are eligible to borrow items from Loudoun County Public Library: The cities of Falls Church, Alexandria, Winchester, District of Columbia; Arlington, Fairfax, Fauquier, Prince William, Clarke and Frederick Counties in Virginia; and Montgomery, Prince Georges, Frederick and Charles Counties in Maryland; and card holders of the Thomas Balch Library in Leesburg.
Please note that you still need to go through our library card application process. You must provide identification (photo id and proof of current address showing your residency in any one of the reciprocal jurisdictions).
What are some examples of acceptable documents that may be used to establish my eligibility for a Loudoun library card?
Please visit this link for a list of acceptable documents.
How many items may I check out?
You may borrow an unlimited number of books, magazines, audio books, DVDs and compact discs. For Playaway View, you may borrow one per library card. For video games, you may borrow a maximum of ten per library card.
All library materials have a circulation period of 3 weeks and can be renewed up to 7 times (unless another patron is waiting), with these exceptions: 7-Day Hot Picks books (1 week, no renewals) OverDrive eBooks and eAudiobooks (2 weeks, no renewals) Freading eBooks (2 weeks, 1 renewal)
May I renew my items?
Yes, either in person, online or by calling the automated telephone renewal service at 703-771-5626. Please note that 7 day loan period items and items that have holds on them cannot be renewed.
What are your fines for overdue books?
The fine is 10 cents per day, per item. The maximum fine per item is $5.00.
An unpaid fine of $10 or more will block the library card so that no more items can be checked out or
I've lost an item. What will it cost me?
You will be charged the replacement cost for items not returned. Please note that we do not accept replacement copies for lost items, and only
accept cash or credit cards for the payment.
May I check out or renew my books without my library card?
Yes, but only if you can provide a picture ID.
May I obtain my library card number to access the internet or wireless service in the library?
Yes, but only if you can provide a picture ID. However, staff will provide you with a temporary number to access these services if you can not provide the information during your current visit.
May I obtain my library card number remotely via phone, email inquiry or the Ask A Librarian online chat service?
You can obtain your library card number remotely from library staff if your driver’s license number has been added to your borrower record and you can provide us with this number.
May I inquire or manage my account remotely via the phone, email inquiry or the Ask A Librarian online chat service?
You can obtain this information remotely from library staff if your driver’s license number has been added to your borrower record and you can provide us with this number.
What if I want to access the Online Databases and I cannot provide the necessary information to obtain my library card number?
Staff will provide you with a temporary number to access this service for 24 hours.
May I pick up my holds without my library card?
Yes, but only if you can provide a picture ID. Staff will be glad to hold your books for an additional day if necessary.
May I place a request in the library if I do not have my library card?
Yes, staff will be happy to assist you with this service when you visit the library or via the phone.
May my spouse pick up my holds or other family member?
Your spouse or other family member can only pick up your holds if they have possession of your library card.
May I check out, renew, or pick up my child’s holds?
Yes, parents have full access to their child's record if the child is younger than 18.
What if I don't see what I want in your catalog?
After staff determines that the item you would like is not available locally, you may obtain it through Interlibrary Loan. The fee for this service is $3.00 for each item requested, collected at the branch when you pick up your item. (There is a fee of $3.00 for each item requested. The fee is payable when you pick up the item. You will be notified in advance if there are other fees charged by the lending library).
You may also consider making a purchase suggestion using the Suggest A Title form for titles not in our catalog.
What if I lose my card?
Please let your branch know if you lose your card so we can prevent use of the card by someone else. Please come into the branch to get a free replacement card.
How long before my card expires?
As a Loudoun County resident, your Loudoun County Library Card has no expiration date. However, cards that have been inactive (i.e. no items checked out) for five years will be purged by the system. We also ask you to update your library account information every two years. In the meantime, if your address or phone number changes, please let us know so that your library account information can be kept up-to-date.
If you do not live in Loudoun or a jurisdiction that participates in reciprocal borrowing, but have a Loudoun County Library Card because you work, go to school, or own property/business in Loudoun, your library card does expire every year. Please bring proof of eligibility (such as a work ID) to any one of our branches and our staff will renew the card for you.
May I use my Loudoun County library card in other area libraries?
As a Loudoun County resident, you are eligible for library cards from any public libraries in the jurisdictions who participate in the regional reciprocal borrowing program. Please consult each individual library policy on how to obtain a library card from any one of the public libraries in the program. Please note that we do not share library patron information or catalog information with any other libraries in the reciprocal program; therefore, you will have to go through the library card application process required by the other library.
Is the library material you want checked out, but you’d like to be placed on a waiting list so you can check it out once it’s available? Simply place a hold on an item through the Library Catalog. When you see an item you want in the catalog, click “request item”, enter your Library Card number, and select your preferred pickup location. When your requested item becomes available you will be notified by either phone or email. Requested items are kept for you to pickup at the branch for 5 days.
Loudoun County Public Library Educator Card
The Educator Card supports the library’s efforts to be a center for learning and reading in our community. The Educator Card offers expanded access to library resources to educators living and/or working in Loudoun County. This card is intended for professional use only, offers more privileges than a personal card, and should not be used in place of a personal library card.
Educator cardholders enjoy these unique privileges:
- Borrow up to 50 items
- No fines for overdue items
- 8 week loan period (no renewals)
Public and private school K-12 teachers, homeschool teachers, childcare providers, and preschool teachers who either work and/or live in Loudoun County. Please note these qualifications are different than those for obtaining a personal LCPL card.
How do I get an Educator Card?
Visit your local branch. You must show proof of your status as an educator: letter on school letterhead or other proof of current employment as an educator, daycare provider certification, current homeschool status certification, or similar documentation. You must also show proof that you live and/or work in Loudoun County. LCPL staff will make the final decision about the validity of documentation provided.
Will the card expire?
Educator cards are valid for one year only and will expire on June 30th of every year. The card can be renewed upon expiration by presenting the same documentation provided when you first received your card.
Are there any exclusions?
Our 7-day check out collection and interlibrary loan services are excluded. Items checked out on this card should be for educational purposes. This card is intended for professional use and should not be used to check out personal use items.
What about my students?
We would be happy to help you get personal library cards for your students. Please contact your local branch to make arrangements for a class visit to the library or a librarian to visit your classroom.
Are there any fees associated with the Educator Card?
There are no fines or fees for overdue items. However, card holders will be responsible for replacement costs of any lost or damaged items. All overdue items must be returned before other materials may be checked out.